Matthew Sweeney

Matthew Sweeney

Matthew Sweeney was born in Donegal in 1952. His ten collections of poems have won or been shortlisted for many awards and his most recent book is Horse Music (Bloodaxe, 2013), winner of the inaugural Piggot Poetry Prize. A new book Inquisition Lane from Bloodaxe is scheduled for 2015. He is co-author with John Hartley Williams of the handbook, Writing Poetry and the satirical thriller, Death Comes for the Poets (Muswell Press, 2012). He has recently published a short stand-alone collection with Shoestring, and is editor of the classic anthologies Emergency Kit (with Jo Shapcott) and The New Faber Book of Children's Verse.

Twentyone Men and a Ghost is a compelling tour-de-force by a poet at the top of his game.


'Sweeney's spells in Berlin and Transylvania have a strange aptness. They are places where the obsessives who wander through the sawn-off narratives of his poems might fancy ending up. On arrival they might reflect that they should have wished more carefully, but equally they would know there had been no choice but to follow where the impulse led'

- Sean O'Brien, The Guardian


Mattew Sweeney on Thirteen Men:

“The Men poems took me by surprise. I realised fairly quickly I was writing about mortality, rather than masculinity. All the men I’ve ever met, and all the women too, come into it – and all of these have made me what I am. So the Men poems constitute a kind of alternative autobiography”.


Titles by this author

Tweets from the Poetry Business

poetrybusiness RT @WriteOut_Loud: The @WolvesLitFest poetry comp, open to everyone, on the theme of 'wanderer', closes 31st Dec. First prize: £400. Winner…

about 5 hours ago via Twitter Web Client

Poetry Business mailing list
Your cart is currently empty
Arts Council England - National Portfolio Organisation

Inpress Books