Awards & Prizes

S = Shortlisted  
L = Longlisted 
HC = Highly Commended
2nd = Second Place 



Michael Hartnett Award - John McAuliffe, The Way In (Gallery Press)

New Welsh Writing Awards - Mandy Sutter [S]

The Kent & Sussex Poetry Prize - Susan Utting, Room One

Gladstone’s Library Writer in Residence programme - Rebecca Farmer, Not Really

Bridport Prize - Emma Danes [S]

Anne Born Prize (Poetry Society) - Emma Danes [HC] 

National Poetry Competition - Rosie Shepperd [L]

Ledbury Poetry Competition - Rosie Shepperd, Break 

National Poetry Competition - David Tait [L]


Ambit Flash Fiction Competition - Mandy Sutter [2nd]

Plough Prize - Paul Stephenson [L] 

Anne Born Prize (Poetry Society) - Paul Stephenson [HC]

Wells Festival of Literature Poetry Competition 2015 – Paul Stephenson [S]

Bridport Prize –  Paul Stephenson [S]

Hippocratic Poetry Competition - Simon Currie, Tension Pneumothorax [HC]

Bridport Prize - Julia Deakin, How can I tell if the bluebells in my garden are Spanish

Troubadour international Poetry prize - Julia Deakin [S]

Plough Prize - Julia deakin [HC]

T.S. Eliot prize - Tim Liardet [S]

Forward single poem award - Maura Dooley, Cleaning jim dines heart [S]

Magma Poetry Competition - Pam Thompson, Postcards from Belfast 

Forward Prize - Pam Thompson, Postcards from Belfast [HC] 

Mslexia competition- Pam Thompson, An Umbrella for Georgia O'Keeffe 

McLellan Poetry Prize - Susan Utting, Self-Portrait as a Ticked Box

Sentinel Literary Quarterly Prize for Poetry - Andrea Holland, Svay Pak Mathematics

Ted Hughes Award (book colaboration) - Chris Beckett, Matushima [S]

The Frogmore Papers - Julie Mellor [D]

Mslexia - Julie Mellor

Havant Literature Festival - Julie Mellor

Charles Causley Prize - Niel Farrel

Yorkshire Poetry Prize - Ann Pilling, Breasts 

The Bridport Prize - Ann Pilling, Practicing

Not the T. S. Eliots - David Tait, Three Dragon Day

Polari First Book Award - David Tait, Self-Portrait with the Happiness

Gurnsey On the Buses competition - Carole Bromley, Hayburn Wyke 

Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine - Carole Bromley, On hearing for the first time [3rd], 

Hippocrates Prize for Poetry and Medicine  - Mum’s Foot [HC] 

Bridport Prize - Carole Bromley, Ringo Starr Stood Up at Leicester Forest East [S]

Manchester Cathedral Poetry Competition - Jenny King, Anonymous [HC] 

The Caterpillar competition - Carole Bromley, Hansel and Gretel [HC]

Watermarks competition - Carole Bromley, All the pubs where we used to meet are sinking [2nd]

Poetry News competition - Carole Bromley, Eternity 

The Interpreter’s House competition - Carole Bromley, Emporium [HC] 



Aldeburgh First Collection Prize - David Tait, Self Portrait With the Happiness [S]

Poetry Prize for First Collection from the Seamus Heaney Centre for Poetry - Paula Cunningham, Heimlich's Manoeuvre [S]

Shine / Strong Poetry Award 2014 - Paula Cunningham, Heimlich's Manoeuvre [S]

Gregory O'Donoghue Poetry Prize — Paula Cunningham [2nd]

National Poetry competition - Paul Stephenson [L]



The National Poetry Competition — Sally Goldsmith, 'Thaw' [HC]

Barnet Open Poetry Competition — Julie Mellor

Yorkshire Open Poetry Competition ('Best Yorkshire Poem') — Julie Mellor

Yorkshire Open Poetry Competition — Nell Farrell [2nd]

Lakeland Book of the Year — Kim Moore, If We Could Speak Like Wolves [S]

New Writing North: Northern Writers' Awards — Suzannah Evans 

Cardiff International Poetry Prize — Rosie Shepperd [2nd]

Ballymaloe International Poetry Competition — Paula Cunningham [3rd]

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — Rosie Shepperd [S]

Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice — Mimi Khalvati, Earthshine

Fenton Aldeburgh Best First Collection Prize — Paula Cunningham, Heimlich's Manoeuvre [S]

Michael Marks Award for Poetry Pamphlets — Kim Lasky, Petrol, Cyan, Electric [S]

Michael Marks Award for Poetry Pamphlets — Kim Moore, If We Could Speak Like Wolves [S]



The National Poetry Competition — Allison McVety, To The Lighthouse

Michael Marks Award for Poetry Pamphlets — Paul Bentley, Largo [S]

Michael Marks Award for Poetry Pamphlets —Maitreyabandhu, The Bond [S]

Michael Marks Award for Poetry Publishers — Smith/Doorstop Books

The Rialto Nature Competition (judged by Andrew Motion) — Carole Bromley [L]

The Rialto Nature Competition (judged by Andrew Motion) — Sally Goldsmith [L]

The Forward Book of Poetry 2013 — includes two poems from North 48

Troubadour International Poetry Prize — Kim Moore [HC]

Troubadour International Poetry Prize — Mike Barlow [HC]

The Independent's Books of the Year (2012) — Kim Moore, If we Could Speak Like Wolves



'Forward Poems of the Decade' anthology — includes four poems by Smith/Doorstop poets

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — Ed Reiss, 'Ka'aba', Your Sort [HC]

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — Jean Sprackland, Sheperdess and Swain (The North, 46) [HC] 

Poetry Book Society Translation Choice — Yvonne Green, After Semyon Izrailevich Lipkin

Michael Marks Award — Simon Armitage, The Motorway Service Station as a Destination in its Own Right [S]

Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice — Christy Ducker, Armour

Aldeburgh/Jerwood First Collection Prize — Ed Reiss, Your Sort [S]



Troubadour Poetry Prize — Allison McVety [S]

Troubadour Poetry Prize — Paul Mills [S]



Cardiff International Poetry Competition — Jane Routh, The Gift of Boats


MMU Poetry Prize — Allison McVety [S]

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Collection) — Catherine Smith, Lip [S]

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best First Collection) — Allison McVety, The Night Trotsky Came to Stay [S]

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — [S]


Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — [S]


O.B.E. for services to poetry — Michael Schmidt

Poetry Book Society Recommendation — Jane Routh, Teach Yourself Mapmaking



Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — Paul Farley, Liverpool Disappears for a Billionth of a Second (The North, 35)

Children's Poetry Bookshelf Choice — Gerard Benson, Omba Bolomba

Aldeburgh/Jerwood First Collection Prize — Mike Barlow, Living on the Difference [S]



Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice — Tim Dooley, Tenderness

Aldeburgh/Jerwood First Collection Prize — Catherine Smith, The Butcher's Hands [S]



Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — [S]

Poetry Book Society Pamphlet Choice, the first to be awarded — Daljit Nagra, Oh My Rub!

Aldeburgh/Jerwood First Collection Prize — [S]

Poetry Book Society Recommendation — Catherine Smith, The Butcher's Hands

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best First Collection) — Jane Routh, Circumnavigation [S]



Poetry Book Society Recommendation — Diana Syder, Maxwell's Rainbow

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best First Collection) — Catherine Smith, The New Bride [S]



Forward Prize for Poetry (Best First Collection) — [S]



Poetry Book Society Recommendation — Dennis Casling, Endorphin Angels



T S Eliot Prize — Michael Laskey, The Tightrope Wedding [S]

Aldeburgh/Jerwood First Collection Prize — Cliff Yates, Henry's Clock

Poetry Book Society Recommendation — Michael Laskey, The Tightrope Wedding

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best First Collection) — [S]



Poetry Book Society Recommendation — Dorothy Nimmo, The Children's Game



Poetry Book Society Special Commendation — Michael Schmidt, Selected Poems 1972-1997

Forward Prize for Poetry (Best First Collection) — Jane Draycott, No Theatre [S]



Forward Prize for Poetry (Best Poem) — [S]


Rebecca Farmer: In 2016 was one of the four winners of the Gladstone’s Library Writer in Residence programme. This was awarded for pamphlet Not Really.

Tweets from the Poetry Business

poetrybusiness Join us for the launch of 'Beyond Rubies' – an anthology of serious and rigorous poetry and prose born from over th…

about 4 hours ago via Hootsuite

Your cart is currently empty
Arts Council England - National Portfolio Organisation

Inpress Books